Fostering Love

Hey Readers!

It’s the start of a new semester for me and that mean lots of scheduling and planning! In the last few months I have added a new routine into my daily life. This new addition has required lots of attention, cleaning, and love – puppies!! About three months ago I began fostering dogs at my local Humane Society. At first, I’ll admit, it was a quick fix since I couldn’t adopt the dog I fell in love with. I thought, I’ll just foster her until I can afford her. However, I quickly realized how much more this dog deserved. She deserved a backyard, not a school apartment. She deserved a house with children, not four roommates. She deserved so much more then I could give at this point in my life. If it was a different time, I would have adopted her in a heartbeat. Fostering this dog made me realize how simply being a temporary home made a difference, and that was the role I I wanted to play until I could afford to rescue. Fostering dogs is not for everyone, and a lot of people tell me they could never do it when I inform them of the process. I completely understand, I accidentally fell into the foster life and prior to that I would have said the same thing. I would have said how falling in love with them and caring too much would prevent me from being a good foster. But I was so entirely wrong! You can foster and love the dog as if it were your own. It will be hard when that dog gets adopted. Although as sad as you are, you will also be that happy that you helped that dog on its journey to his or her forever home. You are no less important than the owner that will one day adopt, you have given that dog love in its most vulnerable time. Fostering is such a wonderful experience, for you and the dog! I have been so happy to come home to a loving and loyal dog everyday after class. While they are quite a handful, fostering is one of the most meaningful things I have ever done. You can see the dog grow and become more ready to be in their forever home. If you love dogs and are ready to give a helping hand go to your local animal shelter or humane society and ask how you can help! Trust me, the hardest part is taking the first step. Once you become a foster, you’ll never regret it. If you don’t have the time to care for a dog, you can simply become a dog walker at many of these places! So many of the shelters need more volunteers to come and exercise the dogs during the day. How much better does it get!? You can go get some puppy therapy while giving a helping hand! Whatever your commitment is, whether it be a full time foster, or a weekend dog walker…just put yourself out there! These dogs will love you forever for being a part of their lives and helping them in their journey to a forever home. And for a little extra motivation before I go, I’ll leave you with a couple photos of my foster pups that have made it to their forever homes!

Till next time future fosters…

WP_004741 10806286_10203211006908190_4742436174773333197_n

Leave a Reply

